iOS 15.2, released this week, introduces the ability for customers to reset and erase their locked iPhone or iPad without needing to connect to a Mac or Windows PC.
As outlined in a support document (via 9to5Mac), iOS and iPadOS 15.2 add a new "Erase Device" option for when a device is locked out as a result of multiple failed attempts to enter the device's password. By pressing "Erase Device," users are prompted to confirm their identity with their Apple ID password, which results in the device being entirely erased and reset.
The new option is a welcome addition and a departure from the previous method, which required customers to put their iPhone or iPad into DFU mode and restore via Finder on the Mac or iTunes on Windows.
One caveat is that under the new method in iOS 15.2, the device must already have an active Wi-Fi or cellular connection before it is locked out. If not, users cannot connect to a network and will be forced to revert to the prior technique.
iOS 15.2 and iPadOS 15.2 include a host of new features, including a new App Privacy Report, the Apple Music Voice Plan, Legacy Contacts, and more. Catch up on all the latest features and additions with our round-up.
Friday November 6, 2026 3:27 pm PST by Juli Clover
When the iPhone Duo launched, we shared a list of some of the fun apps developers created for the new form factor. Two weeks out, developers are continuing to come up with fresh ideas, so we thought we'd share some of our favorites.
Games
Marbles Unhinged ($2.99) - Marbles Unhinged is a marble maze designed for the Duo. When you fold it, the floor turns into a ramp. If you stand the top...
Thursday November 5, 2026 12:59 am PST by Tim Hardwick
Apple is launching five new products on Friday, November 6, following pre-orders that opened last week, including its first touchscreen MacBook Pro models.
The following new products will be available from today:
iPad mini with OLED display and A20 Pro chip
iMac with M6 chip
14-inch MacBook Pro with M6 chip
14-inch MacBook Pro with OLED touchscreen
16-inch MacBook Pro with OLED...
Sunday November 8, 2026 7:42 am PST by Joe Rossignol
Apple has made a change to its development process for iOS 28, macOS 28, and corresponding software updates, according to Bloomberg's Mark Gurman.
In his Power On newsletter today, he said Apple separates development of each year's new operating systems into three major stages. Typically, he said each stage consists of four weeks of coding followed by a four-week "convergence" period where...
So, anyone can reset my iPhone without my consent?
That's been possible for years. Since I've been an iPhone user since 2017.
All one needs to do, put it in DFU mode and connect to a computer with iTunes.
Do a reset & restore iPhone.
It won't remove your activation lock or FindMy on your phone. but your data and Information will be completely erased from the phone (other than activation lock and FindMy)
Very welcome addition, working as tech support I know this new feature helps a lot normal users.
@HQuest Nope, after a force reset with recovery or DFU, iOS ask you your AppleID, but the APpleID is not completely visible. This is just another simple way to reset, but I'm quite sure the AppleID will not displayed entirely. Anyway your ID is protected by password and 2FA btw.
Nice! Now not only stolen devices can be taken for parts, thieves would know some of its previous owner information.
Hope I am not the only one to see a problem in this.
Incorrect.
Let’s just say I’m a technician who deals with customer’s forgotten passcodes on iPhones on a regular basis.
There is literally no difference between this new update and the procedure prior. This just takes out the middle man. (The computer)
Previously, if the iPhone was stolen, it could already be (DFU) resorted and taken apart.
Find My also stays on, so device activation is locked to owner’s Apple ID still.
Does this turn the "Find My iPhone" setting off or is this only to be used for a reset of the current owner (not getting rid of the phone).
Find My is still enabled after (if it was already on). Device will still be locked to Apple ID/owner.
So, anyone can reset my iPhone without my consent?
People already could by putting your iPhone into DFU mode with the computer and restoring it.
I thought iPhones required a password to be reset.
No password required.
This is an extreme big welcome addition to iOS. To be honest, should’ve been here years ago.
Being a tech who deals with this on a constant basis, this is an amazing time saver for people who tend to forget passwords and have to hunt down a computer for the passcode removal.
I’ve even met tons of people in different households who purposely don’t even own a computer.